Growing

by Tonya

Having lived in several longitudes in the last several years, I’ve discovered that I’m only happy when things are growing. Prolonged seasons of darkness and deadness really get me down.

Finally, my early spring seeds have bore edible treasures. Two weeks ago, I made my first salad from lettuce in my container garden. I’ve also been happily harvesting loads of radishes. My favorite being the oblong beauties in the photo. They were labeled French Breakfast radishes and to my taste, the are much less harsh and bitter than the ordinary round variety from the store.

My peas are starting to produce pods and my lone, 3-year old strawberry plant has finally produced fruit…which the birds have been sampling before I get to them.

Today, I planted tomatoes ( Orange Russians and Cherokee purple) plus a jalapeño plant. I also put some drought-hardy flowering plants (purslane, etc), which are the only flowers that ever survive my prolonged absences from home.

Still on the hunt for some okra, but Midwestern greenhouses don’t seem to have it this year

20140531-134755-49675945.jpg